Top News

2023: It's our turn to represent Alimosho Fed. Constituency Igando-Ikotun LCDA youths

 By Niyi Akande

The youths of Igando Local Council Development Authority under the platform of the All Progressives Congress, in Lagos State, have cried out to the leadership of the party at the state level to help halt the ongoing political system in Alimosho.

The group said  other Local Government Areas and LCDAs  have been representing the Federal Constituency at the Green Chamber, saying it is now the turn of Igando Ikotun Local Council Development Authority.

The group while expressing heirt displeasure over neglect of the LCDA, while interacting with our medium recently, stated that the marginalisation of Igando Ikotun LCDA or deliberate denial of right to represent Alimosho Federal constituency at green chamber was  uncalled for. 

The group further said since the creation of Alimosho Federal Constituency in 1991,  there has been deliberate, conspicuous and unhealthy marginalization of the people of Igando-Ikotun LCDA,  a development which breeds injustice and negates the tenet of fairness.

In a statement signed by  the Secretary of the  Youth Wing Of All Progressive Congress in the LCDA  to obtained by our medium, Mr Busari Tiamiyu said,   "Alimosho definitely has a big influence on the
polity of Lagos State and Nigeria as a whole due to her population strength and geographical spread, with wanton need for evenly distributed infrastructural development, Human Capital Development and Youth  empowerment.
The Secretary further stated that, until 1979, Alimosho used to be under Ikeja Local Government Area,
during the administration of Alhaji Lateef Jakande, the then
Governor of Lagos State. In 1979, Jakande certified Alimosho fit to
be a Local Council Development Area and was headed by Hon. Fatai Akinyemi nobut was returned back under Ikeja Local Government Area
during the military administration of Gen. Muhammadu Buhari and Tunde

"Fortunately, in 1991 Alimosho Local Government was officially created by
the administration of Gen. Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida with it's headquater at Ikotun, and was chaired by Late Hon. Odebunmi of NRC Party,  the first Chairman of Alimosho Local Government. Hon. Odebunmi was later succeeded by Hon. Fatai Shodimu after which Hon. Ayo Akinyemi became the Chairman of the Largest Local Government in 1999 under Alliance for Democracy (AD).Hon. Ayo Akinyemi
 was succeeded by Bola Ilori who held the post of an administrator of the Local Government before it was divided into 5 LCDAs and 1 LG  in 2003 by the administration of  Ashiwaju Bola Ahmed  Tinubu with an intention of all inclusiveness and to ensure even distribution of infrastructural and human developments, economic progress, political appointment opportunities amongst the two Constituencies and the LCDAs.

"You will recall that Alimosho Local Government has eleven constitutionally recognised wards( 11 wards), that are famously refer to as old wards.

"Constituency 01 which has 7 Wards comprises of 1LG and 3LCDAs  while Constituency 02, has 4 Wards and 2 LCDAs respectively.

 *Constituency 01.* 
1.G South, IPaja  South.
2.G North, Ipaja  North.
3.M1, Pleasure/Okeodo
4.M2, Abule Egba, Meran/ Aboru.
5.H, Ayobo Ijon 
6.C2, Egbeda/Alimosho.
7.C1, Iyana ipaja

While Constituency 02 has 4 wards which includes: 
1.D, Idimu/Isheri. I
2.E2, Egbe/Agodo.
3.F, Igando Egan. I
4.E1, Ikotun Ijegun

"In Summary Alimosho has two Constituencies that are to poduce MHR in rotational order between the two Constituencies that made up of Alimosho Local Government Area."

He further listed former occupiers of the seat of the House of Representatives of Alimosho Federal Constituency at the Green Chamber from 1993 with their wards and their Constituency till date are as follows:

1.  Hon. Femi Ikuomola (Larry K) was the first House of representative member that represented Alimosho Federal Constituency under the defunct NRC in 1993  and he was from ward D Egbe idimu LCDA which is Constituency 02.

The emergence of Democracy in 1999 brought about Barrister Olaitan Oladipo who served from 1999 till 2003 as Member representing Alimosho Federal Constituency also From ward D Egbe Idimu LCDA.

After which it shifted to Constituency 01 from 2003 with Hon. Adedeji from ward M2 (Agbado-Okeodo) LCDA till 2011.

After Hon. Adedeji's two-term tenure, the current senator representing Lagos West Senatorial District, Senator Adeola Olamilekan Yayi Served as Member representing Alimosho Federal Constituency From 2011 till 2015, before he became the Senator representing Lagos West Senatorial District in 2015. Senator Olamilekan Adeola Yayi is from Ward D Egbe Idimu LCDA. (Alimosho constituency 02).

In 2015 the MHR in rotational order between the two Constituencies shifted to Constituency 01 and it was given to Hon. Olufemi Adebanjo from  Ward C1 Alimosho Local Government of Constituency 01 from 2015 till Date.

Premise to note that as Nigeria is approaching another rounds of general election in 2023, political gladiators are jostling for political offices and Alimosho Federal Constituency seat is not an exception as the seat of the Federal representative would be vacant from 29th of May 2023 and the vacant seat is being arranged to be occupied by constituency 02 according to the rotation formular which has been in place since the current occupier is from Constituency 01.

Hence, it is important to emphasis that, ever since the creation of Alimosho LG/Federal constituency in 1991, Igando Ikotun LCDA which is the second LCDA with Egbe Idimu to form Constituency 02, has never had the chance to produce a representative for Alimosho at the Green Chamber. In the past, the circumstances were seen as political consensus among all the LCDAs involved but, recent events has shown pointers to deliberate marginalisation and schemings to unjustly, continually to deny Igando Ikotun the right to fair representation at Green chamber. On this premise and owing to the fact that the current member representing Alimosho constituency 02 at the Lagos State House of Assembly, Hon. Kehinde Joseph is also from *Ward D* Egbe Idimu LCDA, the current Vice Chairman of Lagos West Senatorial District Chief Babatunde Sunday Aboyade is also from *Ward D* Egbe Idimu LCDA, 
 the immediate past  state organising secretary, Alhaji Abdulahi Enilolobo is also from *Ward D* , Egbe Idimu LCDA, as well as the immediate Past Local Government Area (LGA) party chairman, in person of Late Chief Solomon Ogundola (Baba Adimula) also from ( *ward D)* egbe Idimu LCDA,  one would be wandering while Egbe Idimu LCDA with Just 5 Wards will be having all above mentioned Political Post while Igando Ikotun with 7 Wards would marginalised up to this Level.  an Aspirant from Igando Ikotun LCDA should emerge as the  representative of Alimosho federal constituency  at Green chamber come 2023.

As a matter of emphasis, there are eminently qualified people of Igando Ikotun Lcda who had shown interest and it will be fair, if those ones are given the necessary support by others. We have a duty to protect the interest of Igando Ikotun sons and daughters, including the generation yet unborn, in politics, economy and all sphere of life, when their exist conspicuous indicators of deliberate scheming out in politics, governance, economy etc.

 With these illustrations and obvious marginalisation, we are bewildered, and the question that readily comes to mind is;  "why is Igando-Ikotun has been this marginalised up to this level?

"It is when everyone get the things they  so deserve. Equity should be domesticated come 2023. The All Progressives Congress believes in equity, therefore, equity should be allowed to play out. Igando-Ikotun lcda should be given the
 federal constituency ticket. Enough is Enough!,"
 DeRay Mckesson said.
Lagos State governor, Mr. Babajide Sanwoolu.
Ex Lagos State gov., Asiwaju Bola Tinubu.

No comments