Top News

Adelabu's governorship bid receives boost as 24 ex-council chairs dump ADC, PDP for APC

Abiola Kolawole, Ibadan

Twenty-four former Local Government Chairmen who dumped the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), and left the party for the African Democratic Congress (ADC), and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Oyo state have returned to the ruling party, APC further boosting the chance of Adebayo Adelabu's to become the next governor of Pace Setter State.

Twenty six former chairmen who served during the first tenure of Governor Abiola Ajimobi between 2011 and 2015, had last year dumped the APC due to what they termed as breach of agreement after working for the success of the re-election of the Governor.

The former Council bosses who explained that they had worked assiduously to ensure the governor's second term bid said that they were surprised that they lost out when it was time for them to seek re-election to their respective local government council areas.

The development made them to migrate to both ADC and PDP.

But, the 24 council bosses Tuesday declared that they dumped their respective political parties and rejoiced with their original party, APC.

 The ex-chairmen include Hon. Yekeen Popoola (Irepo) who served as ALGON Chairman between 2011 and 2015 said that they decided to dump their various political parties and work for APC considering the performance of the ruling party at the February 23, 2019 presidential and national assembly elections.

Other former chairmen at the meeting held in Ibadan, the state capital on are: Hon. Olabiyi Niyi (Saki East), Hon. Trimisiyu Olayiwola (Kajola), Hon. Olarinre Adisa (Itesiwaju), Lord Stowel Balogun (Oorelope) and Ismail Oyetunde (Ona Ara).

Also at the reconciliatory meeting which had in attendance the Gubernatorial candidate of the party, Mr. Adebayo Adelabu and other APC stalwarts were: Obisesan Kamoru (Egbeda), Abiodun  Olayiwola (Lagelu), Soji Ojoawo (Oyo (West) Olorode Oluade (Afijio), Mukthar Adekunle (Oyo East) and Aworinde Lasisi (Surulere).

The rest were: Jacob Ogunmola (Atisbo), Fashola David (Ogbomoso South), Ope Salami (Akinyele), Omolewu Segun (Ibarapa North), Adelore Atànda (Ibarapa Central) and John Olaoye Ojedokun (Iwajowa).

The 24 former chairmen added that they returned to APC to work for the success of Adelabu at the governorship poll billed to take place on Saturday, March 9, 2019.

Ogunmola who spoke on behalf of his colleagues revealed that they decided to jettison their new-found parties and bury the hatchet in order to ensure victory for Adelabu on Saturday.

No comments